Day & multi-day tours · Private or shared [email protected]
3,800 Tours 166 Destinations 87 Countries
Voyzo

Alberta · Canada

Jasper tours and things to do

Jasper is a mountain town inside Jasper National Park in Alberta, and Voyzo lists 5 private tours there, from guided hikes and an evening wildlife drive to trips that start in Edmonton, each priced on request by email. Parks Canada places the park 370 km (192 miles) west of Edmonton and 404 km (256 miles) northwest of Calgary. Check the season before you plan: the SkyTram, the Maligne Lake cruise and the Columbia Icefield experiences are closed for 2026 and list May 2027 reopening dates, and Parks Canada lists Maligne Canyon and Mount Edith Cavell Road as closed for the 2026 season. Parks Canada lists Pyramid Road, near town, as open year-round and rated the paved Athabasca Falls and Sunwapta Falls trails Good on 25 October 2026.

  • Private tours for your group, quoted by email
  • Independent licensed and insured operators1
  • Booked direct with Voyzo, no marketplace markup2
  • Closures and 2027 season dates checked 26 October 2026
A small tree-covered island in the turquoise water of Maligne Lake, with mountains behind
Spirit Island, Maligne Lake, Jasper National Park
5private tours, all priced on request by email
370 kmwest of Edmonton, according to Parks Canada
232 kmIcefields Parkway between Lake Louise and Jasper
May 2027when the SkyTram, Maligne Lake cruise and Columbia Icefield experiences list reopening; all three are closed for 2026

Last updated 26 October 2026. Distances, closures, fees and season dates were checked on that date against Parks Canada, Tourism Jasper, the Municipality of Jasper, the Government of Alberta, Environment Canada and each attraction's own site; Voyzo tours are priced on request.

Tours

Jasper tours

5 private tours: trips that start at an Edmonton hotel come first, then the evening wildlife drive, then the guided hikes. As of 26 October 2026 none shows an online price: send a request and the Voyzo team replies by email with the price for your group. Listed in Voyzo's own order, not ranked by price or reviews.

Showing all 5 tours

  1. Meeting point in Jasper townsite, 6:00 PM start

    Evening Wildlife Tour in Jasper

    4.5 hoursPrivate wildlife drive

    Best for a 4.5-hour evening drive around Jasper that the tour page describes as timed for dusk wildlife; sightings are never certain

    Price on request

    Request a quote

Not sure which tour fits?

Tell us your date, group size and what you want to see. We reply by email with the tour that fits and the price for your group.

Get a free quote

These tours are quote-only today, so cards show price on request. Check each tour page for what the stated duration includes: the Edmonton trips include about four hours of driving each way, according to their tour pages. The two-day tour page offers the Columbia Icefield Skywalk, a Maligne Lake boat cruise and the SkyTram as optional extras, and the day-trip page offers the SkyTram; all three attractions are closed for 2026 and list 2027 dates in the open-and-closed section below.

Which tour

Which Jasper tour should you book?

Common situations and the Voyzo tour built for each. Durations come from the tour pages; prices are on request.

If you wantBookTimeFrom
A day trip from Edmonton without driving Private Jasper National Park Lakes Highlights Tour from EdmontonA private 14-hour day to Pyramid, Patricia, Annette and Edith lakes and Athabasca River viewpoints for up to five guests; the tour page puts the drive at about four hours each way. 14 hours On request
Two days in the Rockies from Edmonton 2 Days Private Tour in Rocky Mountains and Jasper from EdmontonA private vehicle and driver-guide for both days from Edmonton; accommodation in Jasper is not included. 2 days On request
To look for wildlife in the evening Evening Wildlife Tour in JasperA 4.5-hour evening drive from the Jasper townsite with a 6:00 PM start; sightings are never certain. 4.5 hours On request
A guided hike near Maligne Lake Hike Jasper with Your Personal GuideA private guide for 6 to 8 hours on trails near Maligne Lake, paced to your group. 6-8 hours On request
A guided hike at the Columbia Icefield Hiking the Columbia Icefields Region with Your Private GuideA private 7-hour day near the toe of the Athabasca Glacier with three hikes; the meeting point is at the Icefield. 7 hours On request

Every tour is private: the vehicle or the guide is for your group only. Confirm the season, closures and what is included when you ask for your quote.

Plan your visit

Plan your visit to Jasper

Closures, seasons, distances and fees, checked against official sources on 26 October 2026. Each block names its sources.

Jasper at a glance

Facts about the town and the national park. Where a figure can change, its source and the date it was read are named.

Where
Jasper is a townsite inside Jasper National Park, in the Rocky Mountains of Alberta. Parks Canada places the park 370 km (192 miles) west of Edmonton, 404 km (256 miles) northwest of Calgary and 805 km (500 miles) northeast of Vancouver.
The park
Tourism Jasper gives the park's area as 11,228 km² (4,335 square miles) and says it was established in 1907. Parks Canada calls it the largest national park in the Canadian Rockies.
Dark sky
The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada designated the park a Dark-Sky Preserve on 26 March 2011. Parks Canada calls it the second largest Dark-Sky Preserve in the world.
Park pass
Entry fees apply. Parks Canada's Jasper fees page, read on 26 October 2026, lists adult daily admission at CAD 12.25, senior CAD 10.75 and a family or group of up to seven people in one vehicle CAD 24.50, with free admission for youth 17 and under; it does not state a fee year. A day pass is valid until 4 pm on the day after purchase.
Visitor centre
The Jasper Information Centre, 500 Connaught Drive, was open 9 am to 7 pm from 14 May to 30 September 2026. Parks Canada lists 9 am to 5 pm from 1 October 2026 to 31 March 2027, with the centre closed on 25 December. Telephone 780-852-6176.
Emergencies
Call 911. Jasper Dispatch, open 24 hours, is 780-852-6155. Parks Canada notes that cell phone coverage is not reliable throughout the national park.
Time zone
Alberta Time (ABT), which the Government of Alberta gives as UTC-6:00. Alberta officially moves to permanent Alberta Time on 1 November 2026, so its clocks no longer reset to Mountain Standard Time in the fall and stay on UTC-6:00 all year.
Money and tax
Canadian dollars. Tourism Jasper says Alberta is the only province without a provincial sales tax, the federal GST is 5% on most purchases, and Tourism Jasper member businesses add a 2% Destination Marketing Fee. The Government of Alberta says its tourism levy on accommodation booked after 31 March 2026 is 6%.
Health cover
Alberta's health-care plan does not cover out-of-province visitors, according to Tourism Jasper, which advises checking your own insurance before you arrive.
Trails
Tourism Jasper says the trail system is over 1,000 km long, and Parks Canada publishes a trail conditions report that was updated on 25 and 26 October 2026.
After the 2024 wildfire
Tourism Jasper says the July 2024 wildfire affected more than 32,000 hectares and that Jasper reopened to visitors in September 2024. The Municipality of Jasper reports 358 destroyed structures in the initial assessment and remediation at 375 properties, on a page updated 21 October 2026.

Sources: Parks Canada: Jasper National Park; Parks Canada: getting here; Parks Canada: Jasper fees; Parks Canada: park passes and gates; Parks Canada: hours of operation; Parks Canada: how to reach us (emergencies); Parks Canada: Dark-Sky Preserve; Tourism Jasper: Jasper National Park; Tourism Jasper: travel tips; Tourism Jasper: wildfire information; Government of Alberta: tourism levy; Government of Alberta: Alberta's new time system (ABT); Municipality of Jasper: rebuild progress.

What is open and closed, checked 26 October 2026

Several paid attractions run on a May to October season and are already closed for 2026. Parks Canada also lists some places as closed for the 2026 season. Status changes with weather and works, so check the source on the day. Parks Canada's important-bulletins page still lists an area closure for the wildfire-impacted areas of the park.

Jasper SkyTram

The operator's page says the SkyTram is closed for the 2026 season and lists 21 May to 11 October 2027 as its 2027 dates, weather dependent. The ride up Whistlers Mountain takes seven minutes to an upper station at 2,263 m (7,425 ft).

Maligne Lake cruise

Closed for the 2026 season; the operator lists 28 May to 10 October 2027, weather dependent, and describes the cruises as going to a viewpoint overlooking Spirit Island. Parks Canada says Spirit Island has no road or trail access, so tour boats or private non-motorized craft are the only way to reach it.

Columbia Icefield experiences

The operator's Columbia Icefield experiences, including the Columbia Icefield Skywalk 280 m above the Sunwapta Valley, are closed for 2026 and list 1 May to 11 October 2027, weather dependent. Parks Canada's Icefield Centre information desk was open until 27 September 2026 and is closed for the season.

Maligne Canyon and Medicine Lake

Parks Canada says Maligne Canyon remains closed for the 2026 season while it plans rehabilitation work; its trail report lists a superintendent closure with no public access. Medicine Lake, upstream, becomes a mudflat in fall and winter because it drains through sinkholes.

Mount Edith Cavell

Cavell Road is closed for the 2026 season. Parks Canada's seasonal caribou closure also prohibits all access to the road and the Astoria and Portal Creek trails from 1 November to 15 May, to protect Tonquin caribou winter habitat. The road is 14 km long, with a 7.5 m vehicle limit and no trailers or large motorhomes.

Miette Hot Springs

Parks Canada's Miette Hot Springs page says the springs are closed for the season and that it looks forward to welcoming guests back in spring 2027. Parks Canada's page also carries older notices, so check it before you plan around the springs.

Athabasca and Sunwapta Falls

Parks Canada's trail report of 25 October 2026 rated both paved falls trails Good. Parks Canada expects Highway 93A to be reachable from the south entrance only, with no through travel, from mid-October to early November 2026; check 511 Alberta for road updates.

Pyramid Lake and Pyramid Island

Parks Canada lists Pyramid Road, including Pyramid Island, as open year-round with a 7.5 m vehicle limit. The Pyramid Trail was rated Fair, with wet and muddy sections, on 25 October 2026, and Jasper Transit's Pyramid Loop runs four trips a day on the schedule starting 13 October 2026.

High trails and bears

On 25 October 2026 Parks Canada's trail report listed fresh snow and snow cover on the Wilcox Pass trails near the Columbia Icefield and snow at high elevation on the Bald Hills trail. The same report listed the Opal Hills Loop at Maligne Lake as closed because a grizzly bear was frequenting the area.

These are the statuses read on 26 October 2026. Season dates are the operators' and are weather dependent; Parks Canada says its road and closure dates are tentative and can change without notice.

Sources: Jasper SkyTram: season dates (attraction's own site); Maligne Lake Cruise: season dates (attraction's own site); Columbia Icefield experiences: season dates (attraction's own site); Columbia Icefield Skywalk: season dates (attraction's own site); Parks Canada: hours of operation; Parks Canada: Maligne Canyon; Parks Canada: Mount Edith Cavell; Parks Canada: Miette Hot Springs; Parks Canada: Medicine Lake; Parks Canada: trail conditions; Parks Canada: road restrictions and seasonal closures; Parks Canada: Jasper important bulletins; Municipality of Jasper: transit; Parks Canada: Maligne Lake.

A day or two in Jasper, built from what is open

A plan built from places described on this page and from the statuses read on 25 and 26 October 2026.

  1. Morning, in townStart at the Jasper Information Centre (500 Connaught Drive) and check Parks Canada's trail report and 511 Alberta before you drive. Parks Canada says the Pyramid Bench trails are easily reached on foot from town, so a short walk needs no car.
  2. Midday, Pyramid LakePyramid Road, which includes Pyramid Island, is listed as open year-round, and Jasper Transit's Pyramid Loop has four trips a day on the schedule starting 13 October 2026.
  3. Evening, wildlife and starsTourism Jasper says wildlife sightings are most frequent in the early morning and during the evening, and it names Pyramid Lake Road and the Maligne Valley among the wildlife corridors. Parks Canada asks you to stay in your vehicle at the roadside and lists Pyramid Island among its dark-sky viewing spots. Voyzo's evening wildlife tour starts at 6:00 PM.
  4. Day 2, the Icefields ParkwayDrive south for Athabasca Falls (30 km), Sunwapta Falls (54 km) and the Columbia Icefield area (104 km). A park pass is required on the Parkway, there is no year-round cell coverage, and in winter there are no services between Jasper and Lake Louise, so fuel up before you go. From 1 November to 31 March snow tires or chains are required.
  5. Day 2 or 3, the Maligne ValleyMaligne Road turns off Highway 16 1.9 km east of Jasper and ends at Maligne Lake 47 km from town, with no gas stations on the way. Tourism Jasper puts the drive at about one hour; the cruise operator advises allowing at least 90 minutes. Maligne Canyon is closed for 2026, and the Opal Hills Loop was closed on 25 October for a grizzly bear.
  6. From May 2027, the lift and the lakeThe Jasper SkyTram, the Maligne Lake cruise and the Columbia Icefield experiences list May 2027 reopening dates, weather dependent, and the events and reopening table has the exact dates. As of 26 October 2026, Parks Canada gives no reopening date for Cavell Road or Maligne Canyon.

Sources: Parks Canada: road restrictions and seasonal closures; Parks Canada: trail conditions; Parks Canada: hours of operation; Parks Canada: Pyramid Bench trails; Municipality of Jasper: transit; Tourism Jasper: weather and climate; Tourism Jasper: travel tips; Parks Canada: wildlife safety; Parks Canada: Dark-Sky Preserve; Parks Canada: travelling the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada: Icefields Parkway in winter; Parks Canada: Maligne Lake area trails; Maligne Lake Cruise: season dates (attraction's own site); Jasper SkyTram: season dates (attraction's own site); Columbia Icefield experiences: season dates (attraction's own site).

Best time to visit: season by season

Temperatures, snowfall and precipitation are 1991 to 2020 normals from Environment Canada's Jasper station (a composite of the JASPER and JASPER WARDEN stations). What is on is the 2026-27 schedule read on 26 October 2026. Highs and lows are the daily maximum and minimum.

Best time to visit: season by season
SeasonTypical weatherWhat is on and open
NovemberHighs about 1.5 °C, lows about −8.1 °C; 20.8 cm of snow on average.Snow tires or chains are required on the Icefields Parkway from 1 November, and all access to Cavell Road is prohibited from that date for caribou. Marmot Basin's website shows a projected opening on 13 November, and Christmas in Jasper starts the same day. The SkyTram, Maligne Lake cruise and Columbia Icefield experiences are closed.
December to FebruaryHighs about −3.5 to 0.5 °C, lows about −14.4 to −12.7 °C; 11.8 to 21.2 cm of snow a month.Christmas in Jasper runs to 3 January 2027 and Jasper in January from 15 to 31 January. Tourism Jasper lists snowshoeing, skating on Lake Mildred, ice climbing and skiing. In winter, Parks Canada says there are no services on the Icefields Parkway between Lake Louise and Jasper. The information centre is closed on 25 December, and Jasper Transit's daily services do not run on 25 December or 1 January.
March to AprilHighs about 4.7 °C in March and 10.9 °C in April, lows about −8.2 and −3.6 °C; 17.0 and 7.9 cm of snow.The fixed 1 November to 31 March snow-tire period on the Icefields Parkway ends on 31 March, though the rule also applies whenever the road is covered with snow and ice. The Jasper Pride and Ski Festival runs 15 to 19 April 2027. Parks Canada's caribou closure keeps all access to Cavell Road and its trails prohibited to 15 May, and Parks Canada gives no reopening date for the road itself.
May to JuneHighs about 16.4 °C in May and 20.0 °C in June, lows about 0.9 and 5.2 °C; 36.5 and 57.6 mm of precipitation.Services on the Icefields Parkway run from early May. The Columbia Icefield experiences, the SkyTram and the Maligne Lake cruise list May 2027 reopening dates, weather dependent. Parks Canada says winter weather on the Parkway lasts to mid-June and that lakes typically thaw by late June.
July to AugustHighs about 23.4 °C in July and 23.0 °C in August, lows about 7.4 and 6.1 °C; 52.2 and 50.8 mm of precipitation.Parks Canada says the summer months are the busiest, with over a million visitors in just a few months, and that alpine trails along the Icefields Parkway are usually snow-free by mid-July. The Jasper Information Centre's 2026 summer hours were 9 am to 7 pm from 14 May to 30 September; Parks Canada had not published 2027 hours when checked.
September to OctoberHighs about 17.9 °C in September and 9.9 °C in October, lows about 2.5 and −2.4 °C; 2.1 and 8.3 cm of snow.The elk rut runs 1 September to 15 October and Parks Canada warns that bull elk will attack anything that comes too close. Parks Canada says the town is much quieter in fall. The Dark Sky Festival ran 16 to 25 October in 2026. Parks Canada's trail report listed fresh snow on high trails on 25 October 2026.

Normals describe a typical year, not a forecast; mountain weather changes quickly. Tourism Jasper's own climate page gives different headline figures, so this page uses Environment Canada's published normals. Season dates change every year: check each source before you go.

Sources: Environment Canada: 1991-2020 climate normals, Jasper; Tourism Jasper: events; Tourism Jasper: weather and climate; Parks Canada: travelling the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada: Icefields Parkway in winter; Parks Canada: Mount Edith Cavell; Parks Canada: hours of operation; Parks Canada: fall in Jasper; Marmot Basin ski area; Municipality of Jasper: transit; Jasper SkyTram: season dates (attraction's own site); Maligne Lake Cruise: season dates (attraction's own site); Columbia Icefield experiences: season dates (attraction's own site).

How to get to Jasper

Distances are Parks Canada's. Parks Canada's getting-here page gives distances, not drive times, so the times here come from the Voyzo tour pages and are marked as such. Fares are Jasper Transit's published fares from the Municipality of Jasper, read on 26 October 2026.

From Edmonton

Parks Canada places Jasper National Park 370 km west of Edmonton, and Voyzo's tour pages give about 366 km along Highway 16. Highway 16, the Yellowhead Highway, is the main route and enters the park at the East Gate, 48 km east of town. The Voyzo Edmonton day trip puts the drive at about four hours each way. Parks Canada says a connector shuttle runs daily between Edmonton and Jasper, and Tourism Jasper says a shuttle can collect travellers at Edmonton airport.

From Calgary and Banff

Parks Canada places the park 404 km northwest of Calgary. The Icefields Parkway links Lake Louise with Jasper over 232 km and needs a park pass; it has limited services and no year-round cell coverage. Parks Canada lists a tour-bus service to Jasper via Banff along the Parkway, and Tourism Jasper says a shuttle can collect travellers at Calgary airport.

From Vancouver

Parks Canada places the park 805 km northeast of Vancouver. The park's West Gate is 22 km west of town on Highway 16. For British Columbia road conditions Parks Canada points to DriveBC (1-800-550-4997); for Alberta, 511 Alberta.

By air, rail and coach

Parks Canada says Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver have international airports and that VIA Rail has regular train service to Jasper via Edmonton and Vancouver. Tourism Jasper lists two rail services that reach the town. Check VIA Rail's timetable for days and times before you plan.

Around town and to Hinton

According to the Municipality of Jasper, Jasper Transit's local single fare is CAD 3.00 and its day pass is CAD 8.50 from 13 May 2026, with children 12 and under free. The regional Hinton to Jasper service has a CAD 15.00 single fare since 14 July 2025 and runs four trips each way a day on the schedule starting 13 October 2026, except 25 December and 1 January.

Driving in winter

Snow tires or chains are required on the Icefields Parkway from 1 November to 31 March. Parks Canada snowplows operate between 7 am and 3:30 pm when needed, and it recommends travelling the Parkway in daylight. Check 511 Alberta before you leave, and fill the tank: there are no services on the Parkway between Lake Louise and Jasper in winter.

Sources: Parks Canada: getting here; Parks Canada: travelling the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada: Icefields Parkway in winter; Parks Canada: road restrictions and seasonal closures; Parks Canada: park passes and gates; Tourism Jasper: getting here; Municipality of Jasper: transit.

Events and reopening dates, October 2026 to May 2027

Event dates are Tourism Jasper's listings, read on 26 October 2026; season dates are the operators'. Both can change, and Tourism Jasper listed nothing later than May 2027.

Events and reopening dates, October 2026 to May 2027
DatesEvent or reopeningNotes
30 October to 1 November 2026Jasper's Halloween TakeoverListed by Tourism Jasper.
6 to 15 November 2026Christmas in NovemberA food and wine celebration.
13 November 2026Marmot Basin projected openingThe ski area's website shows this projected date for the 2026/27 season.
13 November 2026 to 3 January 2027Christmas in JasperListed by Tourism Jasper.
13 November 2026 to 14 January 2027The Jasper Mug TrailListed by Tourism Jasper.
28 November 2026Rebuild Jasper RunA climb from the town up Pyramid Lake Road.
15 to 31 January 2027Jasper in JanuaryTourism Jasper's winter festival; Mountain Malanka, the festival of the Ukrainian New Year, is on 16 January.
15 to 19 April 2027Jasper Pride and Ski FestivalListed by Tourism Jasper; the Jasper Canadian Rockies Half Marathon follows on 24 April.
30 April to 9 May 2027Taste of SpringA culinary, arts and adventure celebration.
From 1 May 2027Columbia Icefield experiences reopenThe operator lists 1 May to 11 October 2027, weather dependent.
From 21 May 2027Jasper SkyTram reopensThe operator lists 21 May to 11 October 2027, weather dependent.
From 28 May 2027Maligne Lake cruise reopensThe operator lists 28 May to 10 October 2027, weather dependent.

Sources: Tourism Jasper: events; Marmot Basin ski area; Columbia Icefield experiences: season dates (attraction's own site); Jasper SkyTram: season dates (attraction's own site); Maligne Lake Cruise: season dates (attraction's own site).

Park rules and safety

Rules and advice from Parks Canada, read on 26 October 2026. Closures and restrictions are the law in a national park.

Wildlife distances

Stay 30 m (3 bus lengths) from elk, deer and moose and 100 m (10 bus lengths) from bears and other carnivores. Roadside wildlife viewing is restricted all year: stay in your vehicle, do not stop in driving lanes, take photographs and move on.

Bears and bear spray

Tourism Jasper repeats Parks Canada's advice that hikers make noise, travel in groups, keep dogs on a leash, carry bear spray and know how to use it, and give a bear a lot of space. Report large carnivores and aggressive animals to Jasper Dispatch at 780-852-6155.

Elk rut

Parks Canada gives the rutting season as 1 September to 15 October and says bull elk will attack anything that comes too close. Parks Canada issued a warning on 25 August 2026 that the 2026 rut had begun.

Dogs and drones

Parks Canada prohibits dogs from trails and areas in sensitive habitat and says to keep pets on a leash on the trails around town. Recreational drones are prohibited in the park, and Parks Canada says an operator can face a fine of up to CAD 25,000.

Closures and the glacier

Parks Canada asks visitors to respect all closures, research their destinations and be ready to change plans. Parks Canada warns that the Athabasca Glacier is dangerous, that people have been killed falling into hidden crevasses, and that visitors must not cross the barriers.

Waterfall spray and railings

Mist from Athabasca Falls covers the surrounding rocks with a thin, slippery film of water, and Parks Canada asks visitors not to cross the railings.

Sources: Parks Canada: wildlife safety; Parks Canada: how to reach us (emergencies); Parks Canada: fall in Jasper; Parks Canada: trail conditions; Parks Canada: Jasper important bulletins; Parks Canada: travelling the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada: Columbia Icefield and Athabasca Glacier; Parks Canada: Athabasca Falls; Tourism Jasper: travel tips; Tourism Jasper: wildfire information.

Distances from the Jasper townsite

Road distances from Parks Canada's Icefields Parkway guide and Maligne pages, except where another source is named. They are distances, not drive times; the two drive times in the notes are Tourism Jasper's.

Distances from the Jasper townsite
PlaceDistance by roadNotes
Maligne Road turn-off1.9 km eastOn Highway 16.
South Gate6 kmOn the Icefields Parkway.
Jasper SkyTram8 kmTourism Jasper's figure; about 12 minutes by car. Closed for 2026.
West Gate22 kmOn Highway 16, toward British Columbia.
Athabasca Falls30 kmOn the Icefields Parkway.
Maligne Lake47 kmAt the end of Maligne Road; Tourism Jasper says 50 km and about one hour.
East Gate48 kmOn Highway 16, toward Edmonton.
Sunwapta Falls54 kmOn the Icefields Parkway.
Columbia Icefield104 kmOn the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada's Icefield Centre desk is 103 km south of Jasper.
Lake Louise232 kmThe southern end of the Icefields Parkway, in Banff National Park.

Sources: Parks Canada: travelling the Icefields Parkway; Parks Canada: park passes and gates; Parks Canada: Maligne Lake area trails; Parks Canada: hours of operation; Tourism Jasper: travel tips.

Questions, answered

Jasper: your questions answered

Short answers, checked against official sources where they publish a figure, on 26 October 2026.

Still deciding?

Tell us your date, group size and what you want to see. The Voyzo team replies by email with the tour that fits and the price for your group.

Where is Jasper and how far is it from Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver?

Jasper is a townsite inside Jasper National Park in the Rocky Mountains of Alberta. Parks Canada places the park 370 km (192 miles) west of Edmonton, 404 km (256 miles) northwest of Calgary and 805 km (500 miles) northeast of Vancouver. Highway 16, the Yellowhead Highway, is the main route to and from the town. The Voyzo day trip from Edmonton puts the drive at about four hours each way.

How far is Jasper from Banff and Lake Louise?

The Icefields Parkway runs 232 km between Lake Louise and the Jasper townsite, according to Parks Canada, which says it connects Jasper with Highway 1 near Lake Louise and Banff. Parks Canada publishes the Lake Louise distance but no Banff townsite distance and no drive time. The Parkway needs a park pass, has limited services and no year-round cell coverage, and has no services at all between Jasper and Lake Louise in winter. See Voyzo's Banff tours for the southern end.

Is the Jasper SkyTram open?

Not at the moment. The operator's page says the SkyTram is closed for the 2026 season and lists 21 May to 11 October 2027 as its 2027 dates, weather dependent. The ride up Whistlers Mountain takes seven minutes to an upper station at 2,263 m, and Tourism Jasper puts the SkyTram 8 km from the townsite. Dates were checked on 26 October 2026; the SkyTram guide has more.

Can I take the boat cruise to Spirit Island in 2026?

No. The operator's page says the Maligne Lake cruise is closed for the 2026 season and lists 28 May to 10 October 2027, weather dependent. Parks Canada says Spirit Island is 14 km up the lake with no road or trail access, so tour boats or private non-motorized craft are the only way there, and the cruises go to a viewpoint overlooking the island. Read the Maligne Lake and Spirit Island guide before you plan.

Is Maligne Canyon open?

No. Parks Canada says Maligne Canyon remains closed for the 2026 season while it assesses conditions and plans the rehabilitation work needed to reopen it safely, and its trail report of 25 October 2026 lists the canyon as a superintendent closure with no public access. Parks Canada gives no reopening date. Medicine Lake, upstream, drains through sinkholes and is a mudflat in fall and winter.

Is Mount Edith Cavell Road open?

No. Parks Canada says Cavell Road remains closed for the 2026 season while it assesses conditions and plans the rehabilitation work needed to reopen it safely, and it gives no reopening date. Separately, a caribou closure prohibits all access to the road and to the Astoria and Portal Creek trails from 1 November to 15 May every year, to protect the winter habitat of the Tonquin caribou herd. The road is 14 km long, narrow and winding, with a 7.5 m vehicle length limit and no trailers or large motorhomes.

Can I visit the Columbia Icefield and Athabasca Glacier now?

The operator's Columbia Icefield experiences are closed for 2026 and list 1 May to 11 October 2027, and Parks Canada's Icefield Centre desk was open until 27 September 2026. Parks Canada's trail report of 25 October listed fresh snow on the Wilcox Pass trails. The Parkway needs snow tires or chains from 1 November, and the glacier is dangerous: do not cross the barriers. See the Columbia Icefield guide.

Is Miette Hot Springs open?

Not at the moment. Parks Canada's Miette Hot Springs page, read on 26 October 2026, says the springs are closed for the season and that it looks forward to welcoming guests back in spring 2027. The page also carries older notices, so check it before you plan a trip around the springs.

What is the best time to visit Jasper?

July and August are the warmest months, with daily highs of 23.4 °C and 23.0 °C in Environment Canada's 1991 to 2020 normals for Jasper, and Parks Canada says the summer months are the busiest. The SkyTram, the Maligne Lake cruise and the Columbia Icefield experiences run on May-to-October seasons and are closed for 2026. Fall is quieter, the elk rut runs 1 September to 15 October, and snow tires or chains are required on the Icefields Parkway from 1 November.

Is Jasper worth visiting in winter?

Yes, with fewer attractions running. The normals give December to February highs of about −3.5 to 0.5 °C and 11.8 to 21.2 cm of snow a month. Tourism Jasper lists snowshoeing, skating on Lake Mildred, ice climbing and skiing, Marmot Basin shows a projected opening on 13 November, and Christmas in Jasper runs to 3 January 2027. The SkyTram, cruise and Icefield experiences are closed, and Maligne Canyon is closed for 2026.

Do I need a park pass for Jasper, and what does it cost?

Yes, entry fees apply and a valid pass is required to drive the Icefields Parkway. Parks Canada's fees page, read on 26 October 2026, lists daily admission of CAD 12.25 for an adult, CAD 10.75 for a senior and CAD 24.50 for a family or group of up to seven people in one vehicle, with free admission for youth 17 and under, and an adult Discovery Pass at CAD 83.50. Parks Canada's page does not state a fee year.

Can I drive the Icefields Parkway in winter?

Yes, if you are comfortable in winter conditions. Snow tires or chains are required from 1 November to 31 March, Parks Canada snowplows operate between 7 am and 3:30 pm when needed, and there are no gas stations, hotels or restaurants between Lake Louise and Jasper, 232 km apart. Parks Canada lists no cell coverage on the Parkway in winter, so check 511 Alberta before you leave and carry what you need.

How do I get to Jasper without a car?

Parks Canada says VIA Rail has regular train service to Jasper via Edmonton and Vancouver, a connector shuttle runs daily between Edmonton and Jasper, and a bus service runs via Banff along the Icefields Parkway. From Hinton, Jasper Transit's regional bus has a CAD 15.00 single fare, according to the Municipality of Jasper (read on 26 October 2026), and four trips each way a day on the schedule starting 13 October 2026. Check each timetable; Voyzo's Edmonton day trip is the private option.

Is it still worth visiting Jasper after the 2024 wildfire?

Tourism Jasper says the July 2024 wildfire affected more than 32,000 hectares and that Jasper reopened to visitors in September 2024. The Municipality of Jasper reports 358 destroyed structures in the initial assessment, and Parks Canada says recovery is well underway. Some areas remain closed, so check Parks Canada's bulletins, and Tourism Jasper asks visitors to skip photographs of damaged buildings.

Where can I see wildlife in Jasper, and how close can I get?

Tourism Jasper names the Maligne Valley, Pyramid Lake Road, Highway 16 and the Icefields Parkway as popular wildlife corridors and says sightings are most frequent in the early morning and evening. Parks Canada asks you to stay 30 m from elk, deer and moose and 100 m from bears and other carnivores, and to stay in your vehicle at the roadside. Voyzo's evening wildlife tour starts at 6:00 PM.

Can I see the northern lights or the stars in Jasper?

Jasper National Park has been a Dark-Sky Preserve since 26 March 2011, and Parks Canada calls it the second largest in the world. Parks Canada lists Pyramid Island, Jasper Lake, Old Fort Point and the toe of the Athabasca Glacier among viewing spots, and says clear, cold nights can bring the aurora. The Dark Sky Festival ran 16 to 25 October in 2026.

What time zone is Jasper in?

Jasper is on Alberta Time (ABT), which the Government of Alberta gives as UTC-6:00. Alberta officially moves to permanent Alberta Time on 1 November 2026, so from then its clocks no longer reset to Mountain Standard Time in the fall and stay on UTC-6:00 all year.

Do I need a visa or eTA to visit Jasper?

Only if you are travelling from outside Canada. According to IRCC, visa-exempt foreign nationals need an eTA to fly to or transit through a Canadian airport but not when they arrive by car, bus, train or boat, and US citizens are exempt from the eTA requirement. Check IRCC's site for whether your passport needs a visitor visa or an eTA. The Canada Border Services Agency recommends that US citizens travel with a valid passport. Rules change, so confirm on the IRCC and CBSA sites before you travel.

Can I visit Jasper on a day trip from Edmonton?

Yes, though it is a long day. Parks Canada places Jasper National Park 370 km west of Edmonton. The Voyzo day trip runs 14 hours with a drive of about four hours each way, for a group of up to five guests, and the two-day tour spreads the trip over two days, with accommodation in Jasper not included.

How much does a Jasper tour cost, and is the park pass included?

As of 26 October 2026, Voyzo's Jasper tours are quote-only: send a request and the team replies by email with the price for your group. The tour pages do not state whether the Parks Canada pass is included, so ask when you request your quote. Parks Canada's family or group daily rate covers up to seven people in one vehicle.

Free quote

Tell us about your Jasper trip

Share your dates, group size and what you want to see: a guided hike, wildlife, the Columbia Icefield or a trip from Edmonton. The Voyzo team replies by email with the tour that fits and the price for your group. Sending a request books nothing and takes no payment.

  1. Send the requestYour dates, the number of guests and where you will start: Edmonton or Jasper.
  2. We reply by emailWith the tour that fits, the season notes for your dates and the price for your group.
  3. Confirm in writingA booking is confirmed once you and Voyzo agree on it in writing; payment follows confirmation.

Prefer email? Write to [email protected].

Request a free quote

Tell us your dates and group. We reply by email.

Free · no payment
Private or shared? (optional)

Sending a request books nothing and takes no payment. Protected by reCAPTCHA; the Google Privacy Policy and Terms apply. See our Privacy Policy.

About

About Jasper

The Municipality of Jasper acknowledges that Jasper National Park and the municipality lie on Treaty 6 and 8 territory and Métis Region 4, the traditional territory of the Danezaa (Beaver), Nêhiyawak (Cree), Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Secwépemc (Shuswap), Stoney Nakoda and Métis.

Parks Canada says recovery from the July 2024 wildfire is well underway. Tourism Jasper asks visitors to respect all area closures and to skip photographs of damaged buildings out of respect for residents.

Voyzo's Jasper tours start in the Jasper townsite, at the Columbia Icefield or at an Edmonton hotel. Where a tour visits a lake, an attraction or a park area, it follows that place's own season, closures and weather; each tour page describes what the tour covers.

Why Voyzo

Booking Jasper tours with Voyzo

  • Private tours: the vehicle or the guide is for your group only, as each tour page describes
  • Run by independent operators, all professionally licensed and insured; the tour page says who you book with1
  • Booked direct with Voyzo: you deal with one team, with no marketplace markup2
  • A free quote by email, and nothing is booked until you confirm in writing
  • Closures, fees and season dates on this page are checked against official sources and dated

Sources: Parks Canada: Jasper National Park, Parks Canada: getting here, Parks Canada: Icefields Parkway, Parks Canada: road restrictions, Parks Canada: trail conditions, Parks Canada: fees, Tourism Jasper, Tourism Jasper: events, Municipality of Jasper: transit, Municipality of Jasper: rebuild progress, Environment Canada climate normals, Government of Alberta: tourism levy, Government of Alberta: Alberta's new time system (ABT), IRCC: eTA, CBSA: travel documents. Distances, hours and dates differ slightly between sources; where they do, this page says so.

  1. Voyzo's tours in Jasper and from Edmonton are run by independent operators, all professionally licensed and insured. Each tour page says who you book with and, where it applies, who runs the tour. See section 10 of the Terms and Conditions.
  2. Voyzo takes your booking and stays your point of contact for booking, pricing and support (section 10 of the Terms and Conditions, which also describes Voyzo as booking agent for independent operators). A booking is confirmed once you and Voyzo agree on it in writing (section 5, quote requests and bookings).